Receiving an unexpected gift in the mail is my very favorite thing.

I really love receiving gifts in the mail.  Actually, that would imply that I often receive gifts in the mail, which would be quite misleading.  By ‘gifts’ I mean that I love receiving packages in the mail that I’ve ordered myself (online shopping, you are too good to me) and have forgotten about by the time they arrive – so you see, it’s exactly like getting a gift… except I have to pay for it myself.  I was going to make the title of this post long enough to explain that whole thing, but then remembered that this isn’t Twitter.

Since we did just have that whole wedding thing, we were constantly receiving gifts from other people and I loved it.  But even with weddings it’s kind of like buying yourself gifts with other people’s credit cards.  That whole registry thing is semi-awesome.  It’s only semi-awesome and not really awesome because I absolutely hated registering and really don’t need any more ‘stuff’… but the things we did register for we LOVED getting and use all of the time.  I’m a bigger believer in the registry now than before I was married, that’s for sure.

Well, that was a tangent.  The point is, when I open up a just-received package it’s like my birthday!  I always wonder what’s in there and if it will fit and sometimes I subsequently wonder what the heck I was thinking when I ordered a dress I knew would be 2 sizes too big.  That’s really another topic altogether, probably.

Oh Kate Spade, everything you make is wonderful.  Thank you for my new hat.

Oh Kate Spade, everything you make is wonderful. Thank you for my new hat.

This weekend I opened up a whole package from Piperlime and another one from Sephora.  Today I ordered a few cardigans from Banana Republic which I will undoubtedly forget about by next week when they should arrive… And I think yesterday I also may have purchased a few things from Birchbox… The crazy thing is, I don’t even remember!  See how fun this is?!  By the time these boxes come I will be so surprised/happy/in awe of how I know myself well enough to buy the perfect gift.

I hope someone (everyone!?) else can relate.  It’s the little things.

Leave a Reply

